Mayor’s Civic Sunday

Fazeley Mayor & Mayoress, Cllr Andrew James & Mrs Debbie James

Sunday 27 April 2010 – Fazeley’s first Civic Sunday for many years was held today when the Mayor of Fazeley was joined by residents of the town and Civic dignitaries from across Staffordshire.

The morning began with a parade from Fazeley Town Hall to St Paul’s church, Fazeley where Rev Robert Roberts led the congregation and Town Mayor, Cllr Andrew James, gave a reading during the service.

After the service, and a cup of tea and coffee, the civic party then returned to the Town Hall for a buffet lunch and a speech from the Town Mayor.

Cllr James said, “It has been an honour to serve Fazeley during the last 12 months and I am very proud of my year in office.

“Although, I was born in Tamworth, I have many links to Fazeley; my grandmother was born in the town and my father had his business in Mile Oak for 25 years.  My father-in-law worked in Bonehill for over 20 years, my wife worked in Mile Oak for 18 years, I worked in Mile Oak for 5 years and my brother also had a business in Mile Oak for 2 years.”

This entry was posted in Councillors, Fazeley, Fazeley Town Council, Fazeley Town Hall, Mayor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

